Enter the Awards

Entries for the 2019 ARA Awards will open on 1 October 2018 and close on Friday 7 December 2018.

As a special case, entries for reports for the Financial Year ending 31 December 2018 will close on 31 January 2019. Conditions apply – reports must be available by early March 2019.

The Conditions of Entry and the Entry Form are available at Enter the Awards. Please note entries may be submitted online.

Enter your Annual Report in the ARA 2018 Awards to:

  • Benchmark your report to see how well it measures up to current reporting requirements.
  • Receive expert feedback on your report’s strengths and weaknesses, and constructive advice on how to improve it.

From 1 October 2018, entry to the 2019 Australasian Reporting Awards can be made either directly online (click Enter Online), or by printing and completing a hard copy of the ARA Entry Form and sending it to ARA by mail or email.

Consult the ‘Conditions of Entry’ and the ‘Guidelines for Selecting Industries and Reporting Basis’ for the information you may need to complete the Entry Form.

For further information please email ara@arawards.com.au

Who can enter

The Australasian Reporting Awards are open to all private sector, public sector and not-for-profit organisations in Australia, New Zealand and countries in the Asia-Pacific region and elsewhere.

Organisations are invited to submit their most recent annual report for review and consideration for an ARA Award, and to have an opportunity to receive constructive advice on the quality of their report and about how it may be improved.

There are two types of Award: the General Award and the Special Awards.

General Award

The General Award provides a measure of the standard of reporting that has been achieved and is not a competition. The entire annual report is benchmarked against the ARA Criteria which are based on world best practice. Reports that satisfy the criteria at different levels receive a Gold, Silver or Bronze Award. The very high standard of Gold Award reports makes them model reports for other organisations to follow.

Report of the Year

The Report of the Year Award is presented to the most outstanding annual report entered in the Awards. Finalists for this Award are selected from among the Gold Award reports and submitted to further rigorous review by the Awards Committee.

Special Awards Categories

Organisations that enter the ARA General Award are eligible to enter one or more of the ARA Special Awards for particular aspects of annual reporting. There are Special Awards for reporting on Sustainability, Governance and Work Health & Safety; and Integrated Reporting, Online Reporting and Communication. There are additional Criteria for each Special Award. The adjudication panels for these Awards are comprised of people with expertise in that field.

A new Special Award for Best Cover Design has been introduced in the 2018 Awards.


For more information about the Criteria for the General Award and the Special Awards refer to the Criteria page.

ARA Sponsors