Entering the Awards

Entry to the 2017 Awards is now closed.

For further information please email ARA at ara@arawards.com.au or phone ARA on 61 2 9241 1240.

Who can enter

The Australasian Reporting Awards are open to all organisations in Australia, New Zealand and countries in the Asia-Pacific region that produce an annual report.(private sector, public sector and the not-for-profit sector).

Organisations are invited to submit their most recent annual report for review and consideration for an ARA Award, and to have an opportunity to receive constructive advice on the quality of their report and about how it may be improved.

There are two types of Award: the General Award and the Special Awards.

General Award

The General Award provides a measure of the standard of reporting that has been achieved and is not a competition. The entire annual report is benchmarked against the ARA Criteria which are based on world best practice. Reports that satisfy the criteria at different levels receive a Gold, Silver or Bronze Award. The very high standard of Gold Award reports makes them model reports for other organisations to follow.

Report of the Year

The Report of the Year Award is presented to the most outstanding annual report entered in the Awards. Finalists for this Award are selected from among the Gold Award reports and submitted to further rigorous review by the Awards Committee.

Special Awards Categories

Organisations that enter the ARA General Award are eligible to enter one or more of the ARA Special Awards for particular aspects of annual reporting. There are Special Awards for reporting for Sustainability; Governance; Work Health and Safety; Online; Integrated; and Communication. There are additional Criteria for each Special Award. The adjudication panels for these Awards are comprised of people with expertise in that field.


For more information about the Criteria for the General Award and the Special Awards refer to the Criteria page.

ARA Gratefully acknowledges the support of: